For the second time in 31 years, Emerald People’s Utility District (EPUD) has received the American Public Power Association E.F. Scattergood System Achievement Award at the Association’s national conference in New Orleans.

“We are honored to receive this award and doubly honored to be the only Oregon utility to have received it twice,” said Sara Cline, EPUD chief financial officer. “This reflects the long-term commitment our staff and board has made to providing high quality and reliable service.”

True to its name, Emerald People’s Utility District puts people first and keeps them involved in running the PUD they own, said Tobias Sellier, American Public Power Association director of media relations and communications.

“EPUD really represents the true spirit of public power with service to its community is its primary strategic goal,” said Sue Kelly, APPA president and CEO. “Initiatives such as its community solar and green grant programs bring tremendous value and service to its customers.”

The Sharing Sun Community Solar program brings solar energy to homeowners and renters without the maintenance and replacement worries of customer-sited solar. Another unique component of Sharing Sun is that 20 percent of the panels have been awarded to low-income customers.

“We want to give all customers, regardless of income, the ability to support clean, green energy,” Cline said.

GREEN, Emerald’s elective renewable energy program, offers a grant of up to $40,000 annually to help fund renewable energy projects in the community. In addition to its green power programs, Emerald has expanded its energy efficiency programs to help customers save more energy and money. The utility recently rolled out an innovative software system to track customer energy efficiency projects and conduct energy audits, which has lowered administrative costs.

The Scattergood award honors public power association member systems that have enhanced the prestige of public power utilities through sustained achievement and customer service.

EPUD received the award Tuesday, June 19, 2018 at the APPPA annual conference in New Orleans. EPUD first was awarded the award in 1987. Other Oregon utilities that have received this award are Tillamook PUD (1988), Springfield Utility Board (1976) and Forest Grove Light and Power District (1965).